Wishful thinking

Fill up your mind with all it can know
Don’t forget that your body will let it all go
Fill up your mind with all it can know
What would we be without wishful thinking

Chambers of chains
With red plastic mouths
The inside of outside
No one has found
How to unring the bell
It’s just as well

The turntable sizzles
Casting the spells
The pressure devices
Hell in a nutshell
Is any song worth singing
If it doesn’t help

Fill up your mind with all it can know
Don’t forget that your body will let it all go
Fill up your mind with all it can know
‘Cause what would love be without wishful thinking

Open your arms as far as they will go
We take off your dress
An embarrassing poem
Was written when I was alone
In love with you

I shook down those lines
To shine up the streets
I got up off my hands and knees
To thank my lucky stars that you’re not me

What would we be without wishful thinking

– Wilco “Wishful Thinking”

Wilco has a new album coming out this summer. Not surprisingly, it got leaked to the internet. So the band decided to put it up on their website. This is my first new Wilco album, since I’m a late arrival to the party. On first listen I was a little underwhelmed, but from what I’ve been told this is a typical reaction. Wilco albums need time to grow. I’m gonna pre-order it from Amazon, along with a new batch of other music and DVDs, and pick it up for my summer trip to the States. It should make for good road music in the rental car.

“Wishful Thinking” is an older song, from the Ghost Is Born album (and performed even better on Kicking Television). I posted those lyrics because they’re absolutely beautiful. But also because it’s how I feel lately. Maybe I’ve got the meaning wrong, because Jeff Tweedy can be a cryptic fellow. But to me it’s about continuing to dream, continuing to learn and experience, and staying hopeful… in bad times, but just as importantly, in good times too.

4 Responses to “Wishful thinking”

  1. Get yourself Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Also, Sky Blue Sky is kind of amazing.

    I had to give the new one a couple of listens, but it has grown on me. Jeff and the boys can do no wrong.

  2. Yes, Sky Blue Sky is amazingly amazing. I still don’t like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot very much. I went on a minor rant about it in an earlier post. I love some of those songs, but I’d rather listen to them on Kicking Television than on YHF.

  3. YHF is a bit out there. Have you seen their new DVD? I got it off the web and it’s great. Ashes of American Flags.

  4. Yeah, it’s really good. I’ve watched it twice. Actually, seeing/hearing that version of Wishful Thinking is what inspired the post. For some reason I really focused on the lyrics while watching that in a way that I hadn’t before.

Leave a Reply

