Things I think

There is a surprising amount of stuff that fits into an 18″ space. I’m beginning to think that the world was made for 18″ objects. Whatever I put into my day pack that I think will fit, actually does fit. But just barely.

It takes about 40 minutes after entering an air-conditioned Starbucks to cool off enough so that the moisture has left my clothes and my body heat has returned to normal. Then I feel safe enough to leave with some dignity.

My sense of human trajectory is way off. Either that or everyone else’s is. I keep bumping into people. I swear I’m walking straight and bodies are hurtling toward me. It’s like a big dance contest with no partners and everyone goofed up on ether. You just hope for the best until it’s over.

One benefit of this round of jet lag is that I’ve been waking up at around 5:30 or 6 every morning. There’s much more day to the day when that happens. What’s not cool is waking up and immediately starting to sweat. It’s hot. At 7 am it’s hot. It takes me about 10 minutes of standing naked in front of the fan at high speed until I’m dry enough to dress and leave the apartment.

I’ve been misusing the word penultimate my entire life.

Electric razors don’t work on sweaty faces.

Ironing a shirt while naked: not smart.

I think that’s enough for now.

One Response to “Things I think”

  1. Next to last.
    I didn’t know that.

Leave a Reply

