Smooth little pills

I have a new metaphor for my trans-cultural existence:

You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.

That, of course, is the choice Morpheus gives to Neo in The Matrix. It works for me because the pill is one’s choice of experience. Regardless of which pill I take, I’m still essentially me. But the environment is distinctly different. My observations, experiences, and thoughts are a result of that environment. What I don’t know in this metaphor is which one is which. I suppose the red pill is Korea.

I find myself crossing off my mental list of must-do things. Most of them involve food: A really good burrito, check; a really good tikka masala, check; a nice IPA, done; hash browns? yep. But I’m also seeing a lot of people I want to see, having some great conversations, and enjoying everything there is to be had here. Last night was a reunion of two of my friends and former colleagues at the university in Busan. It was a non-stop chatter-fest for a good five or six hours. Anytime there was the slightest gap in conversation, someone would pounce to fill it. I love it when that happens.

Leave a Reply

