Social activities: past, present, future

The long holiday weekend is over. I spent most of it playing music, and did a wee bit of travel as well. A friend called me Tuesday, bored, and asked me to join him for an open mic in PNU. The place was jam packed. Since private schools and unis were closing down for the holiday starting Wednesday, it was the equivalent of a massive Friday night, where everyone has the next day off. That’s a rare thing here. The music was fun — a bit of Radiohead, Blue October, Pearl Jam.

Wednesday was my regular visit to Ol’55. More jammage and a nice rotation of songs. Thursday, I went back to PNU with a Korean friend, thinking there was a new open mic there. But the club owner was asleep(!). So instead we went back to Gwangali. His friend owns a tiny, hole-in-the-wall jazz club and invited us over to play. I called some friends, they called some friends, and it turned out to be a cool evening of foreigners and Koreans jamming away on Beatles tunes, mostly. It was a very living-room atmosphere and kind of reminded me of that scene from Once, where the family all jams together, but not so serious.

The next morning I got up early to meet some folks at the train station to go to Gyongju. I’ve been there twice before, and I can’t say I was overly excited about yet another trip there. But I wanted to get out and do some hiking. Turned out to be a great day. I’ll post photos of that soon.

Presently, I’m dealing with my work contract and visa extension. The contract is done (yay!) and the visa is in progress with the proper authorities, so that’s good.

This coming weekend I get to experience something weird. Bjork is coming to Seoul, and it’s sort of been the talk of the town. I haven’t been to a major concert yet in Korea. I can’t imagine what that will be like, but I’m psyched to see it — not just Bjork but the whole scene. Reportage to follow, I’m sure.

2 Responses to “Social activities: past, present, future”

  1. No stalking.

  2. Yeah, I think my stalking days are over. The obsession has gradually faded into harmless respect.

Leave a Reply

