I’ve arrived in Salzburg…

…and the hills are alive with… snow.

I almost didn’t make it. I thought for a while there I’d be stuck in a village called Kaprice. I was down to about 45 Crowns. Surely they take Euro, I thought. Nope. Well, you must have a bank machine around. Nope. I finally just bought a ticket to the Austria border (37 Crowns ~ $2.15). Once in Austria, I told the conductor I needed a new ticket to continue. I had a mild panic while I waited for him to tell me the cost in Euro: 9.20. All I had on me was a 10 note. Whew!

I haven’t had a chance to get out in Salzburg yet. I had some unfinished internet business that needed attention. The only place to get wireless signal in this hostel is in the TV room. CNN is as banal and self-righteous as I remember.

Get me out of this room.

Leave a Reply

