Prague arrival

I hate to be cliché, but Prague might just be the best city I’ve ever been to. I don’t want to get too excited because so far we’ve just had a first date. I’m not ready to fall in love yet; I’ll have to give it some time. But I am all starry eyed. Adjectives escape me. Nouns too, for that matter. More on this I’m sure after I’ve settled in. I’ll be here for several more days.

And on that note, I’m trying to plan life after Prague. The original intent was to go spend a day in Cesky Krumlov, two days in Salzburg, and then go back to Germany. But the more people I meet, the more compelling things start getting in the way. First was the girl in Olomouc who told me I need more than one day in Krumlov. And then there’s the guy I met in Bratislava who just now Facebooked me that Iron & Wine is playing in Vienna on the 16th. And finally, there’s just about every single traveler I’ve met who has told me I can’t leave until I’ve visited Budapest.

So I don’t know. If I can do a night train from Vienna to Stuttgart, I might be able to manage all of that. Hmmm, how many European cities can I name in a single blog post? I know! Let’s end that silliness and post some photos instead…

Some very serious Catholics inside a very large church in Vienna:

Cool wall paintings in Bratislava:

I’ve decided that kebap is to Europe what burritos are to California. Here’s a late-night indulgence in Bratislava:

My citation for going over my 10 minute ticket limit on the tram. If I’m going to shell out $50 for it, I might as well make use of it and post it on my blog:

A church in Olomouc, Czech Republic:

A river in Olomouc. Very peaceful here, with slow moving ice floes and dead quiet surroundings:

I went to a hockey game with a trio of French folks. Olomouc was playing their arch rivals (I forget who), and Olomouc, unable to take advantage of, oh, a hundred powerplay opportunities (including two 3-on-5 opportunities) lost 3-1. It was a violent game, as shown in this photo. There was also a near riot between hard-core home fans blowing up fireworks and the casual fans who kept chanting back at them to knock it the hell off. The riot police were called in, but no incidents broke out.

Hostel cohabitants — French dude Gil and Australian dude Nick — hanging out at the Vertigo in Olomouc. The bar is dedicated to Hitchcock’s movie. Notice the San Francisco setting from the movie in the background:

And there… I just named one more city. But it wasn’t in Europe, so that’s okay.

4 Responses to “Prague arrival”

  1. 1400 SK fine in a tram? That’s what I call a rip-off :D

  2. For me or for them? ;) Yeah, I wasn’t happy about it, that’s for sure.

  3. Ok. You’re such a great writer I have very few opportunities to point out grammatical errors. It’s not ice “flows,” it’s ice “floes.” Take it from someone who’s spent some time in Alaska (or from the Webster’s I’ve got in front of me. If I’m going to correct you I at least have to make sure I know what I’m talking about!)

  4. Oh, you’re being too kind. :) I make grammatical errors all the time, and I can’t spell to save my life.

    Thanks for pointing it out. I’ve never written that word before.

Leave a Reply

