Miffed at piff?

I figured I was done posting about the Pusan International Film Festival, but it seems my impression of it was different from others. Here’s what Variety Asia Online had to say:

“It’s also not a good day to be the Pusan Film Festival. The massive event is winding down and the verdict is: it rained, no one made many deals, the film market was a bust, Ennio Morricone was offended by the way he was treated and left early and too many events were canceled or moved at the last minute.”

I also got a bulk email from one of the festival organizers who acknowledged “criticism” for this years event and apologized for some “certain un-preparedness.” Hmm.

Okay, so I just live here. And I like movies. I don’t do deals or host parties, so I don’t know anything about this stuff. I just had a damn good time.

I did hear through the grapevine that Ennio was not happy with the way he was treated. Some of it seems to be typical press exaggeration. But I wouldn’t be surprised if he was offended. It’s easy to feel that way here if you allow yourself to. Any time someone does or says anything and you have that split-second moment of “wait a minute.. what the heck was that?” it’s one of two things: you actually are being treated with disrespect, or you misunderstood what the real intention was. I get both, sometimes in the same day. But when in doubt, I choose to perceive it as the second thing. I’m probably wrong half the time, but this attitude keeps me sane.

Then again, I’m used to it. And I’m not a legendary film composer.

Leave a Reply

